It was twenty years ago today…

dizzy dm i rock 1993

It’s hard to believe, but today – April 30th 2013 – it’s been 20 years since the most faithful and life changing night of my life as a musician.

After 5 years of struggling in a tiny garage in the suburbs of Copenhagen, the three of us: Martin Nielsen (bass), Søren Friis (Drums) and myself (guitar) finally felt we had found OUR sound. A sound good enough to compete with whatever else was out there on the danish rock scene in the early 90’s. All we needed was a singer. Me? I was going to concentrate on writing the songs and playing the guitar – I didn’t want to sing!? But as it turned out, lead singers were hard to come by and so I had to do the job until something better would come along – after all, the annual national ‘Battle Of The Bands 1993’ (DM i Rock 93) was coming up.

Actually, we didn’t even plan on entering the competition that year at all, as we had gone all the way to the final the 2 previous years – without winning. At the age of only 18, 18 and 19, we didn’t know ANYTHING  about anything, but STILL had this theory that ‘competitions wasn’t the cool way to break a band’. Luckily we were talked into entering anyway by a close friend (thanks Sonni!) and the rest is pretty much history.

On the night of April 30th 1993 at the legendary Montmartre-venue in Copenhagen, a jury of 10 people – all related to the danish music scene – decided to make our band, Dizzy Mizz Lizzy, the winning band, in front of 9 other amazing (and much older) bands: Tom Lindby Band, Fools Parsley, Odd Gallery, The Amp, The Law, Jane Doe and Inside The Whale (featuring my future collaborates and best friends: Lars Skjærbæk and Marcus Winther-John). Impotators came in third and in second place came the band that now have had the longest career of them all (as a band), Kashmir. All power to them!

This sound clip is a transfer from a cassette recording that I did of a radio broadcasting called ROCKLAND by Danish Radio’s P3. Originally broadcasted a few days after the DM i ROCK 93-final, this is an on-location coverage of that faithful night, including backstage interviews with some of the bands and listening in as the judges try to decide on a winner. The broadcasting also includes bits of some of the actual live performances from the big night (incl. DML) AND one of the very first interviews with (a VERY shy and VERY young) Dizzy Mizz Lizzy, done a few days later. Enjoy🙂

Very little info on the actual broadcast exists and I can hardly read what’s handwritten on the cover of the cassette, but  I DO remember the people involved. Credit goes to:  Anders Dohn, Jan Laursen and Palle Steffensen.

Also huge credit to the creator and brain behind the whole concept of ‘DM i ROCK’, Rasmus Nøhr (now a famous danish singer in his own right).

At last, I have to give a shout out to my buddies Mikael Huwendick, Thomas Larsen, Sonni Steffensen and of course Martin and Søren for being such a big and important part of my life.

Love,

Tim

20 comments

  1. Thank you the musical inspiration Tim!🙂 Keep making rock-records, cause you’re freaking good at it :o)

  2. Poul - Jane Doe

    Ha ha…super fedt at høre Tim ….hold kæft hvor var man klog der backstage🙂
    Poul
    Jane Doe

  3. Tim, thanks for sharing this awesome story! And happy 20th anniversary.🙂

    I can’t believe you didn’t want to be the singer! You’re such a natural! but, Damn! I wish I knew you back then, I would’ve moved to Copenhagen to audition for the chance to be the singer of your songs!😀 I think that will be my “drifting off to sleep–what if?” thought for the next couple weeks.😉

    Also, one more thing that made me laugh…back in, oh, I guess 2002-3 my band in San Diego was doing the old choosing a name game…we ended up choosing Wooden Badger (which I’m proud to say was my idea, and you can see I’m still using it haha) … but one of my other suggestions was actually “Fool’s Parsley”! haha…I never knew there was a Danish band with that name. I thought it was a cool name because Fool’s Parsley is a nickname for Hemlock (which, according to legend, was Socrates’ chosen method of committing suicide)…cool huh? Actually, “Hemlock Tea” was another of my possible band name variations on the idea.

    probably more info than anyone needed, but just felt like sharing.🙂

  4. ta00ya@hotmail.com

    I celebrate 20th anniversary and indulge in Dizzy Mizz Lizzy and Tim`s glory days from DMI Rock 93 to today and future. I cannot speak Danish, but can feel the memorial Thanks for day atmosphere. Thanks for Tim and stuff`s kindness.

  5. Takuya Orikoshi

    I celebrate 20th anniversary and indulge in Dizzy Mizz Lizzy and Tim`s glory days from DMI Rock 93 to today and future. I cannot speak Danish, but can feel the memorial Thanks for day atmosphere. Thanks for Tim and stuff`s kindness.

  6. isak jespersen

    den bedste musikant i danmark! du laver så meget godt musik, og så meget forskelligt musik. rock og pop, så fedt!

    jeg er stor fan af dig!🙂

  7. Hans Thalwitzer

    Hej Tim.
    I 93 arbejdede jeg på Gaffa og var med en del af Dm i Rock touren det år sammen med Rasmus Sonni og Michael. Vi kørte rundt i den hvide hi-ace som Dizzy vist brugte på den efterfølgende vinder tour rundt i landet.
    Jeg var med på nogle af de indledende koncerter og en del af kvart og semi finalerne det år som jurymedlem for Gaffa. En helt fantastisk oplevelse, i det år hvor dansk rock vendte tilbage fra års tørke.

    Det var et stærkt felt, men fornyelsen engagementet og den umiddelbarhed i spillede med var fantastisk, og gjorde at I måtte vinde. Husker stadig stemningen på Musikcafeen i KBH efter I havde vundet en aften, en blanding af forundring blandt publikum og klart en forventning om at her var der gang i noget, der kunne blive stort!!!!
    Det vindende band fik hver aften 20 min til at spille i efter konkurrencen, og her må du rette mig hvis jeg husker forkert, -Men…………har jeg ikke hørt Dizzy Mizz Lizzy spille et langt Shubidua medley??? Måske der findes et bootleg af det et sted ha ha:-))
    Nu er jeg helt ude af musikbranchen, men foråret 93 vil altid stå som noget helt specielt for mig.

    De bedste hilsner
    Hans

    • Tak for din besked Hans. Sjovt at høre om og ja, jeg husker bestemt osse Hi-ace’en. Vi døbte den trofast, da den virkelig var udsat for mange kilometer de år og klarede stort set det hele uden problemer.
      Den med ShuBiDua-medley’et er dog helt i skoven. Det husker jeg intet om og især ikke under de 20 minutter vi fik lov at spille i Montmartre den aften. Nummerene vi spillede var: Waterline, Mother Nature’s Recipe, Silverflame og Barbedwired Baby’s Dream,

      Tim

  8. Hidetoshi

    I listen to Glory

    • Hans Thalwitzer

      Jeg var desværre ikke til stede på selve finaleaftenen, men hørte jer flere gange i kvartfinale og semi finale som blev spillet på Musikcafeen i kbh. Det var der, på Musikcafeen jeg næsten er sikker på at i spillede ShuBIDUa, eller også var det så “sent” på aftenen at jeg husker forkert. -Vi havde jo fri bar!!!:-)))

      Jeg vil med interesse følge dig og dit arbejde fremover:-)

      Hans

  9. Jeg mindes at have læst et sted, at I spillede Zeppelins “Rock n’ Roll” + Sex Pistols “Anarchy in the UK” (vist?) som vinderekstranumre, men glemmer hvor det stod🙂

  10. Pernille

    Dejligt der ikke kom en bedre sanger, I havde ham jo allerede😉
    Vildt det er 20 år siden, min første cd var DML, som kørte på repeat
    Hilsner fra
    Pernille

  11. Linda

    Hej Tim. Jeg var ansat i Femagervejens Ungdomsklub sammen med min kæreste John. Jeg husker stadig jer meget unge fyre, da I øvede i garagen. Du var mega genert og ville ikke synge ha ha. Godt det ændrede sig, for jeg har haft stor glæde af jeres og din musik i alle årene. Fortsæt endelig🙂
    Bedste hilsner
    Linda

    • Hvor sjovt!🙂 Jeg kan desværre ikke få et ansigt op på navnet Linda, men det er jo osse ved at være mange år siden. Tilgengæld skulle jeg mene at kunne huske John. Det var ham, som viste os rundt i ungdomsklubben den første dag vi var der, da han var musikansvarlig på stedet (Jeg mindes at han fortalte at han havde tilknytning til bandet Rocking Ghosts, men jeg tager muligvis fejl). Vi nåede aldrig ham aldrig at kende så godt, da hans dage i klubben sang på sidste vers, samtidigt med at vores lige var begyndt. Du må dog huske at hilse ham alligevel🙂
      Ps. Tak for de søde ord.
      Tim

  12. Kristian

    Hej Tim

    Stort tillykke med jubilæet, og tusinde tak for efterhånden mange år med fremragende musik!
    Det er jo direkte imponerende og glædeligt at se, at Dizzy’s musik stadig holder 20 år senere.

    Selv var jeg kun 6 år i 1993, så der gik nogle år, før jeg for alvor lærte Dizzy Mizz Lizzy at kende.
    Det skete imidlertid i mine tidlige teenageår, hvor I endte med at blive mine store idoler. Af samme årsag ærgrede det mig dengang, at jeg aldrig fik muligheden for at se jer live.

    Det var derfor med en lille tåre i øjenkrogen, at jeg stod og skrålede med på bl.a. Silverflame i 2010, da I valgte at gæste årets Roskilde Festival. Det var en koncertoplevelse jeg aldrig glemmer.

    Jeg tager også hatten af for din solokarriere, Tim. Dine udgivelser er eminente og langtidsholdbare, og så er du en af de bedste live-musikere jeg kender!

    Venlige hilsner
    Kristian

  13. Pingback: The Breeders – Paradiso Amsterdam, 3 juni 2013 | Ghosts of my Life

  14. jane

    fantastisk levering af de 2 numre ved jubilæet på Mads og monopolet,reddede hele min lørdag🙂

Leave a Reply

